All students follow a core curriculum of these subjects:

  • English GCSE
  • Mathematics GCSE
  • Science – GCSE Core and Additional
  • Humanities – Geography or History – GCSE
  • Computing or ECDL
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Religious Education (RE)


GCSE are graded A*-G and are currently being revised to meet the governments’ new standards. From 2014 they will all be devised as linear courses, meaning that the students will only be assessed in final examinations at the end of the course. For most subjects, all coursework and controlled assessments will be removed (this is not the case in practical based subjects like Technology and Creative Arts).


BTEC courses are well established qualifications and have been revised to meet the governments’ new standards. They lead in the first instance to a BTEC award which is equivalent to a GCSE. Assessment of a BTEC course is different to a GCSE as it will still include a significant proportion of on-going coursework assignments. However, there are additional external assessments that for many BTECs will be taken under examination conditions like GCSEs.