Child Development

Qualification: OCR Cambridge National Level 1/2 Certificate Child Development

This is an option subject from 2016. It is made up of 50% exam and 50% assignments.

Year 9 – Year 11

There are two centre assessed units with practical task-based assessment options, as well as an exam covering topics such as: responsibilities of parenthood, contraception and reproduction, antenatal, health, delivery, postnatal checks, illnesses and child safety.

Unit 1 – Exam: Health and wellbeing for child development. Worth 50% of the grade and is 1 hour 15 minutes long.

The first unit underpins all of the other learning in this qualification.

All students will learn the essential knowledge and understanding for child development, covering:

  • Reproduction
  • Parental responsibility
  • Antenatal care
  • Birth
  • Postnatal checks
  • Care
  • Conditions for development
  • Childhood illnesses
  • Child safety

Knowledge gained would be of use for further studies in PHSE, Biology and other Child Development qualifications.

Unit 2 – Assessment: Understand the equipment and nutritional needs of children from birth to five years. Worth 25% of the grade.

In Unit 2, students will gain knowledge of:

  • Equipment needs of babies and young children
  • Factors to be considered when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs
  • Nutrition
  • Hygiene practices
  • Evaluating dietary choices

Evaluation skills are transferable skills which would be of use in further studies in most areas.

Unit 3 – Assessment: Understand the development of a child from birth to five years. Worth 25% of the grade.

In Unit 3, students will gain knowledge of, and skills in developing activities to observe development norms in children up to the age of five.

This unit will include:

  • Researching
  • Planning
  • Carrying out activities with children
  • Observing and reviewing these activities
  • Understanding of the development norms and the benefits of play in child development.

These transferable skills will support further studies in many other subjects.


Students will be graded at Level 2 Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction* (Pass Merit and Distinction are available at Level 1).